Welcome to the homepage for Commander Submarine Group Seven

- News

- Pictures


- Current Leaders

- Previous Commanders

- About CSG-7
- Submarine Ball

- Command Events

- 5th Fleet Region

- 7th Fleet Region
- Forces

- Login to OWA
- OWA User Guide


- Welcome Aboard
- Volunteer Opportunities
- Ombudsman

- Contact Us


- Seahawk / All Hands
Helpful Links
- Military Links

site stats


Latest Headlines










2008 DON Safety Excellence Award Recipients Announced
By Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Safety
Released: August 22, 2008
Story Number: NNS080822-20

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- Secretary of the Navy, Donald C. Winter announced Aug. 19 the 2008 Department of the Navy's (DoN) Safety Excellence Award winners.

"Your integration of 'mission first, safety always' into your commands' culture was superlative during [fiscal year] 2007, and you have justly earned the right to fly my safety flag through the next year," said Winter in his message that announced the recipients.

The 18 winners are: Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility; Commander, Fleet Activities Okinawa; USS Enterprise (CVN 65) with Carrier Air Wing 1; USS Lake Erie (CG 70); USS Rushmore (LSD 47); MCM Crew Persistent; USS Columbus (SSN 762); Marine Corps Air Station New River; 1st Marine Aircraft Wing; Marine Corps Logistics Base Albany; Marine Light Attack Helicopter Squadron 269; Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light 42; Fleet Logistics Squadron 56; Marine Light Attack Helicopter Squadron 773; Training Squadron 31; USNS Lewis and Clark (T-AKE 1); and the Submarine Rescue Diving and Recompression System Team, Advanced Undersea Systems Program Office (PMS 394).

All recipients are presented with the Secretary of the Navy's distinctive white-and-green safety flag, which they are entitled to fly for one year.

This was the second consecutive year the Submarine Rescue Diving and Recompression System Team has received the award. It's the first time that a command has won in two different categories. Marine Light Attack Squadron 269 is the recipient in both aviation and ground safety.

This year's award categories include safety ashore, safety shipboard, Marine Corps ground safety, aviation safety, Military Sealift Command safety, and safety in the field of acquisition.

The plaques, award citations and safety flags will be presented at a recognition ceremony Sept. 3 at the Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center in Washington, DC.

SECNAV also announced that Naval Air Station Key West and Marine Corps Logistics Base (MCLB) Barstow have earned 'Star' level of safety excellence from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration's (OSHA) Voluntary Protection Program (VPP). Star is OSHA's highest level of safety achievement. MCLB Barstow is the first Marine Corps command to earn its Star. The commands will receive a special plaque at the awards ceremony.

There are only seven commands DoN-wide that have reached VPP Star status.

The Chief of Naval Operations and Commandant, Marine Corps have been invited to personally thank the Marines and Sailors who have incorporated safety as an integral part of their command's culture. All Navy and Marine Corps members and their families are invited to attend.

The Department of the Navy Safety Excellence Awards were established in 2002 by The Honorable Gordon R. England to personally recognize Navy and Marine Corps commands that demonstrate extraordinary excellence by sustained mission success with simultaneous exemplary safety performance.